Disability Living Allowance UK: What Illnesses Qualify for DLA (Child & Adults)?


Published on:

Disability Living Allowance UK: We would like to oblige you to read this article and get detailed information on Disability Living Allowance. Which diseases qualify for DLA (child and adult)?

Disability Living Allowance UK

People with physical or mental disabilities require care and financial assistance to support themselves. With Disability Living Allowance (DLA), the UK Government provides financial and care support to disabled people.

DLA is money for people who are disabled and need more care or mobility. It has two parts: the movement part and the care component. We should also note that, from the start of June 20, 2016, DLA has been replaced by Personal Independence Payment (PIP) for those aged 16 and over who qualify for the State Pension.

Important Link

If you want to learn more about UK Disability Living Allowance, we recommend you read this post. Here, we are going to discuss in detail the diseases eligible for DLA and the processes involved in availing the benefits.

Benefits under Disability Living Allowance

The purpose of DLA is to help with the additional expenses of living with a disability; It is tax-free and does not depend on your income or your child’s savings. In the UK, a tax-free payment to disabled people is called Disability Living Allowance.

Disability Living Allowance UK
Disability Living Allowance UK

Children aged three months to sixteen years can apply for DLA by visiting the official website www.gov.uk. DLA benefits extend beyond children with physical disabilities. It can be used to treat many diseases. Such as learning difficulties, developmental delays and behavioral and mental health-related disorders.

Disability Living Allowance 2024

Article NameDisability Living Allowance
Implemented byGovernment of UK
BranchesPersonal Independence Payment (PIP)
ComponentsCare ComponentsMobile Components
CriteriaChildren: Below 16 yearsAdults: Above 16 years
DLA Allowance Rate£26.90 to £172.75/week
DLA Payment ModeDirect deposit every 4 weeks.
Government of UK Web portalClick Here

What Illnesses Qualify for DLA?

You can receive DLA payments if you meet 21 categories of health conditions out of a total of 547 illnesses. The amount you receive depends on how much help you need. We have included below the complete list of diseases that are eligible for compensation.

  • Musculoskeletal disease
  • Psychiatric disorders
  • Neurological disease
  • Respiratory disease
  • Musculoskeletal disease
  • Malignant disease
  • Visual disease
  • Endocrine disease
  • Cardiovascular disease
  • Hearing disorders
  • Genitourinary disease
  • Gastrointestinal disease
  • Skin disease
  • Autoimmune disease
  • Infectious disease
  • Diseases of the liver, gallbladder, biliary tract
  • Diseases of the immune system
  • Hematological Disease
  • Multisystem and extremes of age
  • Metabolic disease
  • Unknown or missing

To maintain your Disability Living Allowance (DLA) claim, you must be eligible for the mobility component or the care component. If daily activities like dressing or cooking are difficult for you, you may qualify for the care component. If walking without assistance is really hard for you, you may qualify for the mobility component.

Disability Living Allowance for Child

DLA for Children can help with the additional costs of caring for a child under the age of sixteen. Who requires more care or assistance than a child of the same age without any disability. From the age of three months, the child can receive a care component.

If your child needs more care, attention or supervision than a child of the same age who is not disabled, you may be entitled to apply for Disability Living Allowance (DLA). Children who have difficulty walking or navigating unfamiliar outdoor environments may also claim this.

Important Links

Your child’s disability should be expected to last for at least three months, except when the illness lasts for at least three months. Depending on how much support the child needs, the DLA rate ranges from £26.90 to £172.75 each week.

Disability Living Allowance for Adults

You must be terminally ill to be eligible for adult disability payments. Must be ill, disabled, or have a long-term physical or mental health condition. 13 weeks or more is considered long-term, with at least 39 weeks remaining.

Adult Disability Payments are divided into two sections; The rates at which each is paid vary. Depending on your needs, you may be eligible for either or both of these. As you know, if anything changes you need to tell the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP).

If you were born on or before April 8, 1948, and you still need care or assistance with mobility, you can continue to receive DLA. If you are currently receiving DLA and were born after 8 April 1948, you will need to apply for PIP.

We are very pleased that you have chosen our portal to learn about Disability Living Allowance. Please keep visiting us to get more information about various financial programs.

Disability Living Allowance UK, Disability Living Allowance UK, Disability Living Allowance UK, Disability Living Allowance UK, Disability Living Allowance UK, Disability Living Allowance UK,

Hello Friend, My Name is Bheem Kumar. I have been blogging for last 4 years. I like to write latest job news, government schemes etc.

Leave a Comment